I’d like to share with you a song from the late Ms Etta James (1938-2012), simply because I think the music and the way she sings (and performs) it are just awesome! The lyrics of the song are below, in case you feel the urge to sing along. Enjoy!

Fauzia

I’d like to do a song that I wrote
It’s a story about a girl, that rather.. that’s right..
It’s about a girl, who would rather go blind
Than to watch her lover leave her
I’d rather be a blind girl

Something told me, oh something told me it was over babe
When I saw you and that girl, and y’all were talkin’
Something deep down, hey deep down in my soul said, ‘Go on, go on and cry girl’
When I saw you and that same girl and y’all were walkin’ by

Hey and I’d rather, oh I’d rather, I’d rather be a blind girl, baby whoo yeah yeah, babe
I would rather be a blind girl than to watch you walk away from me, baby don’t leave me
I don’t wanna see you go

’cause, so you see, I love you so much
That I don’t wanna watch you leave me, baby oh no no
Oh and another thing is, one more thing is, I don’t wanna be free
I’m scared to be by myself

I was just, I was just, oh I, oh I was sitting and thinkin’ babe
Oh I was thinking about your sweet kiss
I was thinking about your sweet kiss and your uh uh..
I see, I see most of y’all know what I’m talkin’ about
Oh, when I look down in the glass that I held to my lips and I saw the reflection of the tears rolling down my face
Baby, that’s when I, when I knew I loved ya and I couldn’t do without you
And I’d rather be a blind girl, baby baby

I don’t believe some of y’all heard me
I’m, I’m, I’m, I’m gonna tell y’all again anyway

And I was sitting here thinkin’ here babe
Whoo I was thinkin’ about your sweet kiss
And your ..
When I look down in the glass that I held to my lips and I saw the reflection of the tears rolling down my face
That’s when I knew I loved ya and I couldn’t do without you
And I’d rather be a blind girl, baby, baby, baby, baby, baby

Whoo and baby, whoo yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah, baby
Whoo I’d rather be a blind girl, baby
Don’t wanna see you leave me
Please don’t go
And whoo baby, whoo baby
And I said I’d rather be a blind girl

