As you grow through life, and as your childhood innocence slowly changes and fades by situations and people in your life that affect the person you are, you are given a choice in how to respond and deal with it. Initially your first response may vary between anger, sadness, hurt and thoughts of retaliation, depending on what exactly took place. And depending on how you develop yourself, how much help you have to deal with it, and how strong you are, you may find a place in your heart to forgive those who have wronged you. Life lessons is what I tend to refer those situations to as.

In my life I too have had my share of life lessons. And they have not always been the easiest lessons either. With help from dear friends, who were there for me when I needed a shoulder to lean on, with the help of seeing and reading the right things at the right time, talking to the right people at the appropriate moments, and a lot of soul searching, tears and sleepless nights, I managed to overcome bad situations, forgive and move on.

Quote on The Inspiration Network
Quote on The Inspiration Network

Forgiving someone does not mean that you have to forget what happened. I think it’s good to remember what you have been through and how it has helped you to learn valuable lessons about others and yourself. It helps broaden your understanding of situations people around you may be in and it enables you to possibly help them with your own experiences. I believe you are less likely to judge others, and are possibly more appreciative of all the good things and wonderful people in your life, when you have seen the other side of the spectrum, but then again; that’s just how I see it.

Forgiving also doesn’t mean that the other person gets away with what they’ve done. Just because you did not ‘seek revenge’ does not mean they will not have to pay for it some way or another. I believe in karma and I believe people eventually get what they deserve. Just as I believe that when you help someone, you will receive help (from someone else or in another way). I also believe that people get what’s coming to them when they treat other people badly. It may not be today or tomorrow, but it will happen one day. And you may not be around to see it, but you just have to believe and trust that this is the way it works and: LET IT GO.

Today, as I was spending time on YouTube (one of my favorite pass times), I found this very touching video (below) about forgiveness, which is the reason why I’m writing this blog right now. As I’m a very emotional person, I definitely needed some tissues to watch the video, as the tears came rolling down my face. So let me warn you to have some tissues handy, just in case if affects you the way it did me.

Another very inspirational video I watched about forgiveness is the video by Jack Kornfield (author of: The art of forgiveness, loving kindness, and peace about ‘forgiving for you’ (video below). In the video Jack Kornfield tells an amazing story about a mother who’s son was killed and how she managed to forgive his killer.

Learning to forgive is a process and some days may be better than others, but to be able to free yourself from the people who have done you wrong is one of the best things you can adopt as a new part of your life. Learn to let go of the things, people and situations that weigh you down. Feel free and start enjoying your life again. Life is short and time flies, so give yourself the gift of forgiveness and be happy. That in itself it the best ‘revenge’ you can have. 🙂

Written with love,
Fauzia

