Every now and then you hear a voice that sounds soothing to your soul. India Arie‘s voice is one that has that effect on me. I have to be honest though. It’s not just her voice. It’s also her lyrics and that incredible spiritual and cultural vibe she has got going on. I simply love her. But the voice though.. Man, that’s something else!

Ever since I first heard her sensuous song “Brown Skin” (from her 2001 debut album Acoustic Soul) I fell in love with her music. Two other really good songs I can recommend are: “I am not my hair” (from the 2006 album Testimony Vol. 1 Life & Relationship) and the ever so delicately sung “Ready for love” (also from the 2001 album).

It has been 4 years since she released her last album Testimony Vol. 2 Love & Politics and today (June 25th, 2013) marks the day of the release of her latest album SongVersationI’m loving this title, Ms. Arie! To view the tracklist (of the Deluxe Edition), click on THIS link.

The first release from this album is the song Cocoa Butter. According to an interview India Arie had with Essence Magazine, the song is about healing your heart when something hurts it. Can’t we all connect with that to some degree?

Essence interview
A clipping of the Essence interview

As I’m typing this, my head is slowly ‘bouncing’ to the melody of the song.  It’s in true India Arie style; which I would categorize as feelgood music. I’m very curious to find out about the rest of the songs on the album, and I’m definitely going to check it out. If you are interested in purchasing SongVersation, you can purchase the regular album (16 songs at $11.99 / €9,99 ) and a Deluxe Edition (20 songs at $14.99 / €11,99) via iTunes or in a CD store near you.

Musically yours,
Fauzia

