The song that I’m sharing with you in this post is a beautiful Surinam soul classic. It was the winning song in the 13th edition of the Suripop competition, which is a competition to determine the best composer in Surinam. In 2004 the song “Ibri Yuru” (“Every Hour”) by Surinam poet Hèlène Bonoo ended in first place. It was beautifully sung by Ngina Davis.

Since I have Surinam roots from my father’s side, listening to the Surinam language (also known as Sranang tongo) always makes me feel ‘at home’. Whether it’s when I listen to a song or to people who are having a conversation. It’s a feeling I that’s hard to put in to words, but it feels so very comforting. I’ve tried to translate the words of the song to English for you, to give those of you who do not understand Sranang tongo an idea of what the song is about.

I’m not sure the translation does the lyrics complete justice, since understanding the words in the original language always makes one feel the words much deeper and give words so much more meaning than a translation normally does. Nevertheless, I hope you enjoy the song!

Special thanks to Jeany a.k.a. Shakantah for the check, check, double check. 🙂

Fauzia

Every hour (Ibri yuru)

You are a star on my path  (Yu na wan stari na tapu mi pasi)
You are my night and my day  (Yu na mi neti en mi dey)
In you I’ve found what my heart wanted  (In yu mi feni san mi hati ben wani)
You are the man who was made for me  (Yu na a man di ben meki fu mi)

In your shining eyes I can read  (Na ini yu brenki ay mi e leysi)
How you are loving me now  (Fa yu te now e lobi mi)
All the beautiful feelings I have been writing  (Ala den moy firi mi ben skrifi)
In a poem  (In wan puwema)
That I want to recite to you every day  (Di mi wan bari gi yu ala dey)

Every hour of the night  (Ibri yuru fu a neti)
I would like to make love  (Mi ben san wani fu meki lobi)
To keep you sleeping next to me  (Fu tay hori yu, sribi na mi sey)
Until the sunrise awakens me  (Te a son e opo wiki mi)

Every hour in the dark  (Ibri yuru ini a dungru)
I would like to hold your hand  (Mi ben sa wan fu hori yu anu)
To hold you next to me  (Fu tan knapu hori mi nay yu sey)
When the fire surrounds me  (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)

In the warmth of your embrace  (Na ini a waran fu yu brasa)
When you are making love to me  (Te yu e freyri nanga mi)
I taste the sweetness of tomorrow  (Mi e tesi a switi fu tamara)
When I want to make love  (Te mi wani meki lobi)
I want to make love to you  (Mi wan meki lobi nanga yu)

Every hour of the night  (Ibri yuru fu a neti)
I would like to make love  (Mi ben san wani fu meki lobi)
To keep you sleeping next to me  (Fu tay hori yu, sribi na mi sey)
Until the sunrise awakens me  (Te a son e opo wiki mi)

Every hour in the dark  (Ibri yuru ini a dungru)
I would like to hold your hand  (Mi ben sa wani hori yu anu)
To hold you next to me  (Fu tan knapu hori mi nay yu sey)
When the fire surrounds me  (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)

Today I’m going to tell you how much I love you  (Tide mi wan taygi yu fa mi lobi)
I wish only the best for you  (Gi yu mi e winsi soso bun)
The moment has arrived (Momenti doro)
Two hearts become one  (Den tu hati e tron wan)
Only you and I can understand  (Yu nanga mi wan kan ferstan)

Every hour of the night  (Ibri yuru fu a neti)
I would like to make love  (Mi ben san wani fu meki lobi)
To keep you sleeping next to me  (Fu tay hori yu, sribi na yu sey)
Until the sunrise awakens me  (Te a son e opo wiki mi)

Every hour in the dark  (Ibri yuru ini a dungru)
I would like to hold your hand  (Mi ben sa wan fu hori yu anu)
To hold you next to me  (Fu tan knapu hori mi nay yu sey)
When the fire surrounds me  (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)
When the fire surrounds me   (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)

Oh the fire is surrounding me   (Oh a faya e lontu luku mi)
The fire surrounds me   (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)
Oh the fire surrounds me  (Oh a faya e lontu luku mi)
The fire surrounds me   (Te a faya e lontu luku mi)

