Sunday, October 20th and my alarm wakes me up at 7:30am. Getting up at the crack of dawn to do some volunteer work and thinking of a song to listen to. A song that’s nice and easy and will wake me up gently.

And then I remember a song I used to listen to as a teenager. I was a big Michael Jackson & Prince fan back then. The song that popped into my mind was “Happy” by Michael Jackson. I still remember the lyrics word by word. As a teenager I had performed this song at school and it brings back memories of me writing down the words on a piece of paper (old school: since we didn’t have PCs and internet back then) and rehearsing it in my room. And I remember how, although Michael was enormously popular back then, few people I knew had ever heard of the song.

If this is also your first time hearing it, please take your time to listen to the words. I think it’s a very beautiful ballad. And listening to it as an adult it has an extra dimension to it. It’s even better than I remember it to be. I will post the lyrics to the song below, so you can sing along if you want to.

Love and happiness,
Fauzia

====
Artist: Michael Jackson
Lyrics: Smokey Robinson, Michel Legrand

Sadness had been close as my next of kin
Then Happy came one day, chased my blues away
My life began when Happy smiled
Sweet like candy to a child
Stay here and love me just a while
Let Sadness see what Happy does
Let Happy be where Sadness was

Happy, that’s you
You made my life brand new
Lost as a little lamb was I till you came in
My life began when Happy smiled
Sweet like candy to a child
Stay here and love me just a while
Let Sadness see what Happy does
Let Happy be where Sadness was
(Till now)

Where have I been?
What lifetime was I in?
Suspended between time and space
Lonely until Happy came smiling up at me
Sadness had no choice but to flee
I said a prayer so silently
Let Sadness see what Happy does
Let Happy be where Sadness was till now

