Ever since Instagram added the 4.0 update to upload videos in June of 2013, it suddenly became a lot more fun! And when I’m done telling you about this post’s featured app Frametastic, it’s going to be even better. 🙂

With the current Instagram video update, you can shoot short videos up to 15 seconds long. It varies from: 1) a video filmed all at once, 2) a video with pauses in between shots, or 3) a pre-recorded video (which was a much needed update in my opinion, so yay to Instagram for that one). And now with Frametastic, you can turn your pictures into a video slideshow too!

You probably all know and use some collage or framing apps on your smartphone, with which you can create fun new combined images. Below an example of a collage I created for my blog post about the Prince song “breakfast can wait”.

Prince video: breakfast can wait
Prince video photo collage

Click here to view an example of a video slideshow I created with Frametastic. As you will see, the app features the pictures one by one, by enlarging them, before going on to the next one. The app really does do it’s name justice. It’s frame-TASTIC. 🙂

When you use Frametastic, you first start off by selecting a frame with the layout and number of windows you need for the pictures you want to frame. After you’ve inserted the pictures into the selected frame, you’re almost done. You can fine-tune the final result by picking a color for the frame or the size of the frame. Finally you select whether to save it as a picture or as a video slideshow. When you select the video option, the app will generate the video and you are ready to save it to your camera roll or share it directly to Instagram. It’s as easy as that!

As I am a firm believer in giving props to people , I have to give thanks to the delightful Ms. Kerry Washington (star of the TV series Scandal), because it’s on her Instagram that I first saw this cool Instagram video option. After doing some research I discovered which app she used and how to recreate videos like that myself.  And since I’ve been asked a number of times to share how I create those videos, I’m sharing it with you guys via this blog post, so you can create these cool videos too!

I’d love to see your creations on Instagram, so be sure to message me here on my blog, InstagramTwitter or Facebook when you upload something. You can download Frametastic for iOs right here! Unfortunately at this time (as far as I know) it’s not available for Android users (yet), but who knows what the future holds, right? Have fun framing!

Already framed,
Fauzia

