Although modern technology made it possible for us to never leave our home if we want to see a movie, there’s nothing like the good old experience of going to the cinema. Just the sheer excitement of going out and being in the movie theater. You buy yourself some popcorn from the concession stand. You sit in a dark movie theater with only the light of the projector shining from the back. Watching the movie on a big screen, while the sound is turned up so loud that you sometimes experience losing yourself completely in the movie.

And even though I’m an avid movie lover, I don’t visit the movie theater as much as I would love to anymore. The reason why will be featured in another blog post soon. So when I do visit the theater, I tend to pick movies I really want to see (or in case I’m seeing the movie with friends, I compromise and see a movie we can both agree upon seeing).

I’ve already seen a couple of trailers of movies that have been (or will be) released in the US, that have sparked my interest. Unfortunately in The Netherlands, we’re a couple of months behind when it comes to movie releases, so I’m patiently waiting for them to be released here, so I can go see them too. In case you are looking for some movie tips, here are the recommendations from my “I have to see this” list:

CARRIE
The 3rd film adaptation of Stephen King‘s 1974 novel Carrie. I saw the 1976 version of this movie starring Sissy Spacek, and now I’m  curious to see this remake with Chloë Grace Moretz.
Release date in NL: 7 November 2013 


THE BUTLER
The butler: Cecil Gaines (a character played by Forrest Whitaker) tells the story of a White House butler who served seven American presidents over three decades. Also starring: Oprah Winfrey, Jane Fonda, Mariah Carey, Lenny Kravitz and many more well known names.
Release date in NL: 8 December 2013. 

MANDELA: LONG WALK TO FREEDOM
This movie celebrates Nelson Mandela’s (played by Idris Elba) extraordinary journey from his childhood in a rural village through to his election as President of South Africa.
Release date in NL: 19 December 2013

THE SECRET LIFE OF WALTER MITTY
A classic story of a day-dreamer (played by Ben Stiller) who escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. I saw the 1947 movie with the late Danny Kaye (whom I absolutely loved) and that’s why my reason for wanting to see the remake.
Release date in NL: 2 January 2014

12 YEARS A SLAVE
An incredible true story of one man’s fight for survival and freedom. In the pre-Civil War United States, Solomon Northup (played by Chiwetel Ejiofor), a free black man from upstate New York, is abducted and sold into slavery.
Release date in NL: 20 February 2014

I’m already very excited to see them. The movie “Carrie” was already released in The Netherlands 2 days now, so that’s going to be the first one to take off my list. Maybe I’ll even write a review of the movies after I’ve seen them. Who knows? So what are the movies you want to see? Any nice tips perhaps? Please leave them in the comments.

That’s a wrap!
Fauzia

