Did you know Rihanna released one of the (in my opinion) BEST songs of her album Unapologetic today?

From the very first moment I heard the song “What Now”, soon after the album was released, I could not get the melody (or the lyrics) out of my mind. It simply haunts me (in a good way) and all I wanted to do after I heard it, was to listen to it over and over again. (I have the tendency to do that when I really like something.) And this could also happen to you! As far as I’m concerned, this song has “major HIT” written all over it, but what else is new when it concerns a Rihanna song release, right?

If you are following Rihanna on Instagram, you might have already noticed that (for days) she was dropping ‘hints’ about the release of the video, using the hashtags: #WhatNowVideo #Friday.

Still from the new 'What Now' video by Rihanna. Picture courtesy of Rihanna's Instagram
Still from the new ‘What Now’ video by Rihanna. Picture courtesy of Rihanna’s Instagram

And now it’s finally Friday and the video is here! Yay! I read that the video was shot in Thailand, during past September. And below you can read what Rihanna herself had to say about the video:

“It’s gonna be kinda eery, very creepy, because ‘What Now’ is one of those songs that you can get really boring with the visual. Everybody’s probably expecting like a narrative type of video, a love story of some sorts, something really soft and pretty. It is pretty and kinda soft, but it’s really a little demented.”

So without any further ado, let’s watch this video together now, shall we?

Behind the scenes footage of the making of the video are in the video below, in case you’d like to take a look at the creative process.

So “What Now”? I just CAN figure it out: because for me it means: listening to this beautiful song as much as I can. I think I’ll stop counting how many times I’ve listened to it continuously after I hit the 10th time I think. 🙂

Musically yours,
Fauzia

