One of the classic Suripop songs I love listening too, along with the song “Ibri Yuru” (which is simply ah-ma-zing!), is the song “Safri”, sung by Powl Ameerali.

Powl Ameerali happens to be touring The Netherlands along with some other Surinam artists in the Suritoppers show this month. And guess who has two tickets to that show in The Hague? 🙂 If you are interested in listening to more of Powl’s songs, you can download his album “Switi Firi” on iTunes.

After I posted the first Surinam song on my blog, along with the English translations, a sweet lady by the name of Cyrila, sent me a message telling me how much she appreciated it. And how she would love to see more posts like it. So especially for her, here is the song Safri (old skool), with the lyrics and translations below it. Scroll all the way down for a new skool cover.

Safri (Sofly)

Di yu ben kon insei (When you came in)
A poku begin pre (The music started playing)
Ala sma opo go dansi (Everyone got up to dance)

Mi ben wan aksi yu (I wanted to ask you)
Fu dansi nanga mi (To dance with me)
Luku yu skin (Look at your skin)
Fa je waka kon insei (As you walked in)
A poku begin pre (The music started playing)

Mi waka miti yu (I walked over to meet you)
Yu no ben luku mi (You didn’t look at me)
Gersi leki yu na wani (It looked like you didn’t want to)
Ma di mi aksi yu (But when I asked you)
Yu opo luku mi (You looked up at me)
Drape a psa (That’s where it happened)
Un waka go insei (We walked inside)
A poku begin pre (The music started to play)

Chorus:
Safri, mi e dansi nanga yu (Softly, I am dancing with you)
So safri, wi e dribi tap na switi poku (So softly, we are moving to the sweet music)
Mi e dansi nanga yu (I am dancing with you)

Yu anu ini di f’mi (Your hand in mine)
grabu ori mi (Grabbed a hold of me)
Firi mi skin (Feel my skin)
We dansi mindrisei (We’re dancing in the middle)
Lek fowru wi e frei (Like birds we are flying)

Chorus (2x)

So safri heri neti (So softly all night)
Mi nanga yu (Me and you)
We dansi tap na switi poku (We’re dancing to the sweet music)
Mi e dansi nanga yu (I am dancing with you)
Safri, heri neti (Softly, all night)
Mi nanga yu (Me and you)
E dansi tap na switi poku (Are dancing to the sweet music)
Mi e dansi nanga yu (I am dancing with you)

Safri (Softly)
Heri neti mi nanga yu (All night, me and you)
Yu nanga mi, mi nanga yu (You and me, me and you)
Mi e bribi (I believe it)
O so safri (Oh so softly)
Mi e dansi nanga yu (I am dancing with you)

A young guy by the name of Rafick Bottse (the next generation of Surinam artists), has managed to give it a really nice new twist and sound. Although I thoroughly enjoy listening to the original song by Powl Ameerali, I also really enjoy the way this cover sounds! Rafick also posted a link so you can download his version of the song in MP3. Click here to download. Take a listen to his cover version and enjoy.

So which version do you prefer best? Or perhaps you like them both?

Softly,
Fauzia

