Today is mother’s day (in this part of the world). A day set aside to honor your mother; the person who has done more for you than anyone in the world. Although mother’s day turned into a very commercial day, it’s intended to be a day about sentiment, not gifts.

Although it’s always nice receiving a gift, when it comes to your kids, (as most moms will agree) if they make you something with their own hands, like a drawing, an arts and crafts project, or if they write you a letter, you will treat it like it’s the most valuable thing you ever received, just because they put their heart into making something especially for you. You will stick it on your refrigerator, put it on the mantel piece or give it a nice place in your livingroom. The best things your kids can give you every day (and you can give them) is: love, respect, attention and appreciation. Anything else is just a bonus.

Of course you don’t just appreciate someone for one day in the year; you do it all year long. On a day like today however, it’s nice to emphasize that a little more. I know that my appreciation for my mom grew when I myself became a mother. Being a mom is not always an easy job, but my mom did a great job in raising my two sisters and me. And as I grow older and I find myself in situations that undoubtedly my mom must have gone through herself, my understanding for how she handled things in the past deepens, as does my appreciation.

Home is wherever Mom is

Since my mom lives in the USA and I live in The Netherlands, our contact is mostly via FaceTime & iMessage. We catch up and share updates on things during our talks, and have our mother/daughter moments that way. It’s our way of dropping in on each other, since the physical distance between us doesn’t allow us to pop in for ‘coffee’.

For the past two years, I’ve visited her in Florida and I enjoyed the moments we shared together. I love the way she made time for us (my youngest son and I) to show us around, meet her friends, made us laugh with some of her unique expressions, and how I felt at home, just because I was with my mom. It’s an awesome feeling to have someone in your life who has known you from before the day you were born and who will always have your back, no matter what. A mother’s love is like no other love. I thank God every single day for my mom and I pray she is blessed with a long, healthy and happy life.

If today, besides showing your mom how much you love and appreciate her, you would like to show the world how much you love your mom, and how beautiful she is, you can do so by posting a picture of the two of you together on social media (Twitter, Instagram, Facebook or Flickr), using the hashtag #MMIB (My Mommy Is Beautiful). (#MMIB is a social project by Yoko Ono.)

Yoko Ono #MMIB
Yoko Ono on Twitter: #MMIB

I’d like to leave you with a YouTube video that most of you possibly have already seen circulating on social media, since it was quite popular and has been viewed (as I am writing this blogpost) nearly 19 million times already! If you have not yet seen it, make sure you watch it, because it a very nicely made video on people being interviewed for the world’s toughest job, and yeah by now you must have guessed what that is.. being a mom. 🙂

I love you mommy!
Fauzia

