Once a month, on a Wednesday evening, Pathe cinema hosts the Ladies Night; a ladies only movie night. During this evening, women invite their female friends to the cinema for a nice girl’s night out together.

Screen Shot 2016-05-21 at 10.54.32 AM
Ladies Night @ Pathe Cinema with friends
Inside the lobby of the cinema they transform it to look like a little indoor market, where vendors sell or promote items marketed specifically for women. There are free sparkly welcome drinks, a free lottery ticket, and inside the cinema theater a complimentary bottle of pop, a bag of popcorn, and a goodie bag await the ladies. On a few occasions the drinks are served by young men who are dressed only from the waist down, while sporting the hard work they put in at the gym from the waist up. I think Pathe thinks that’s what women want to look at during an event like this. (Which in my case isn’t true, because I don’t feel comfortable eyeing a guy that’s about the same age of my sons. Go on and throw in some mature men too for us forever 29 year old girls, Pathe! :-))

This past Wednesday I went to the Ladies night at Pathe Spuimarkt in The Hague, and the movie selected for this evening was: “Florence Foster Jenkins“.

The story is based on the real life of Mrs Florence Foster Jenkins, a New York heiress and socialite who lived from 1868 to 1944, and who dreamed of becoming an opera singer. Despite her love for singing, singing didn’t really love her back. The trailer does a nice job of showing you a glimpse of the plot, so I won’t waste time writing about that.

The movie stars the incomparable Meryl Streep, a dashing (matured) Hugh Grant and a very funny Simon Helberg (who you might know best from the sitcom The Big Bang Theory).  The scene is set in the late 1800’s, early 1900’s and it was lovely to look at all the fashion of that era in the costumes they wore, and also the sets they replicated for the movie.

I’m pretty sure Meryl Streep must have worn some sort of bodysuit to make her look much older (and voluptuous) than she actually is, and her poor singing as her character was phe-no-men-ally funny! The facial expressions Simon Helberg makes during the movie are just priceless, and they will surely make you giggle throughout the entire movie. And Hugh Grant was just himself: dashing, funny, witty, and typically British.

To be perfectly honest with you, going in, I wasn’t expecting a lot from the movie. I watched the trailer beforehand, and although it seemed like it could be a ‘meh‘ movie, I was pretty sure that it was not going to be my cup of tea. And yet I went to see it anyway! Why? Because during Ladies Night, sometimes the experience of being in the movie theatre with girlfriends, and a cinema full of women, outweighs the movie selection.

After having seen it, and not expecting a whole lot from it, I can now sincerely tell you that the movie completely took me by surprise (in a good way)! It is just such a lovely movie! I simply couldn’t shut up about it after seeing it! The story, knowing that it all really happened, the acting, the range of emotions I felt while watching it. Clearly for me it’s a HIT, and a real feel good movie! (Don’t we all basically want to feel good after seeing a movie?) It was an absolute delight seeing it, for so many reasons! Besides laughing at the funny parts, there were times where (I’ not ashamed to admit) I felt tears rolling down my cheeks because it got a bit emotional. You’ve just got to see it to know what I’m talking about, because I don’t want to spoil it for you.

My ‘verdict’: I love the movie! I would recommend it to you if you like a movie with a goofy story, a movie about interpersonal relations and their dynamics, and if you enjoy seeing excellent acting by really wonderful actors. Go spend that money, buy that ticket, and go see it!

See ya la-la-la-la-later!
Fauzia

